Australia Immigration


Australia’s Northern Territory has opened its door to low skilled migrants in 117 occupations by offering a new pathway to permanent residency for aspirants looking to work and live in the region for at least three years.

Came into effect from January 1st 2019, the scheme is known as the Designation Area Migration Agreements (DAMA).

With an aim to re-distribute Australia’s migrant population outside of major cities like Sydney and Melbourne, the Australian government has designed DAMA scheme to attract immigrants to regional areas across the country.

A number of occupations on the DAMA skilled occupation list are also entitled to concessions to the English language and Temporary Skilled Migration Income Threshold (TSMIT) requirements associated with Australia’s skilled migration program.

The NT Government and the Federal Government have shortlisted 117 occupations as suffering skill shortages, where employers can recruit foreign skilled workers if they are unable to fill positions locally:

  Accountant (General)   Early Childhood (Pre-primary School) Teacher   Motorcycle Mechanic
  Accounts Clerk   Earth Science Technician   Nursing Support Worker
  Aeroplane Pilot   Earthmoving Plant Operator (General)   Office Manager
  Aged or Disabled Carer   Electrical Linesworker   Out of School Hours Care WorkerPanelbeater
  Agricultural and Horticultural Mobile Plant Operator   Electronic Instrument Trades Worker (General)   Personal Care Assistant
  Air conditioning and Refrigeration Mechanic   Excavator OperatorFacilities Manager   Pharmacy Technician
  Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (Avionics)   Family Day Care Worker   Plumber (General)
  Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (Mechanical)   Family Support Worker   Pressure Welder
  Aquaculture Farmer   Fitter (General)   Program or Project Administrator
  Arborist   Fitter and Turner   Property Manager
  Automotive Electrician   Fitter-Welder   Recreation Officer
  Baker   Floor Finisher   Residential Care Worker
  Bar Attendant Supervisor   Flying Instructor   Retail Manager (General)
  Barista   Forklift Driver   Retail Supervisor
  Beauty Therapist   Fruit or Nut Grower   Sales and Marketing Manager
  Beef Cattle Farmer   Gaming Worker   Sheetmetal Trades Worker
  Bookkeeper   Disabilities Services Officer   Ship’s Engineer
  Bus Driver   Diver   Ship’s Master
  Butcher or Smallgoods Maker   Hair or Beauty Salon Manager   Small Engine Mechanic
  Cabinetmaker   Hairdresser   Sound Technician
  Cabler (Data and Telecommunications)   Hardware Technician   Supply and Distribution Manager
  Cafe or Restaurant Manager   Hotel or Motel Manager   Taxation Accountant
  Carpenter   Hotel or Motel Receptionist   Motor Mechanic (General)
  Chef   Hotel Service Manager   Motor Vehicle or CaravanSalesperson
  Chief Executive or Managing Director   ICT Customer Support Officer ICT Support Technicians   Motor Vehicle Parts and Accessories Fitter (General)
  Child Care Centre Manager   Interpreter   Motor Vehicle Parts Interpreter
  Child Care Worker   Landscape Gardener   Telecommunications Cable Jointer
  Civil Engineering Technician   Licensed Club Manager   Telecommunications Linesworker
  Community Worker   Linemarker   Telecommunications Technician
  Conference and Event Organiser   Management Accountant   Therapy Aide
  Cook   Marketing Specialist   Tour Guide
  Cook (includes Ethnic Cuisine)   Metal Fabricator   Truck Driver (General)
  Crowd Controller   Mixed Crop and Livestock Farmer   Vegetable Grower
  Customer Service ManagerDeck Hand   Mixed Crop Farmer   Vehicle Painter
  Dental Assistant   Mixed Livestock Farmer   Veterinary Nurse
  Diesel Motor Mechanic   Waiter Supervisor
  Waste Water or Water Plant Operator
  Web Administrator
  Web Designer
  Welder (First Class)
  Welfare Worker
  Youth Worker

How businesses are assessed as being eligible Northern Territory Designated Area Migration Agreement (NT DAMA)

The Northern Territory (NT) Government takes into account all of the following factors to verify the eligibility of businesses that they can use the Northern Territory Designated Area Migration Agreement (NT DAMA).

  1. If employers are operating and located in the NT:
  • their businesses must have been actively operating for at least 12 months
  • the positions to be filled must be located in the Northern Territory
  1. What their workforce needs are:

 the Department of Trade, Business and Innovation will assess the employers’ current and future workforce requirements to check which occupation(s) and concession(s) requested will be approved under the NT DAMA

  • the number of positions that can be nominated for each occupation and for each concession
  • the endorsement to access the NT DAMA is valid for five years, but the endorsement of occupations and numbers of positions to be filled is valid for one year. Employers aim to access more foreign workers will have to apply to the department for endorsement of occupation(s) and the number of vacant positions each year.
  1. Businesses need to demonstrate that they are unable to employ an Australian citizen or permanent resident to fill the position along with providing evidence that the terms and conditions of employment are in line with Australian workplace standards – they must be no less than what an Australian would be paid to undertake the same job in the same location.
  1. Businesses looking for endorsement for the English or Temporary Skilled Migration Income Threshold concessions are required to establish why the concession(s) are needed for the position(s) they are trying to fill.
Feedback & Support